U.S. Department of Defense

The Certifications You Need to Stay Compliant

Department of Defense (DoD) Directive 8140 (8140 has replaced 8570) requires every full and part-time military service member, defense contractor, and civilian employee with privileged access to U.S. Department of Defense Information Systems (IS) to obtain industry certification credentials that have been accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

Learning Tree has significant capabilities and past experience serving all of the Services and the OSD in a broad array of technology, project management, and leadership and professional development training. We can provide customized workforce development services and solutions in critical competencies and technologies such as Cloud Computing, Data Science and Cyber Security, as well as guidance for those investing in process disciplines, to include project and program management, business analysis, and the ITIL® framework.

Maintain Your Certification with Continuing Education Credits

Explore our guides below to discover instructor-led training courses that help you earn the credits you need to maintain your certifications. 

Cyber Security for the DoD

Compliant with DoD Directive 8140 (8140 replaces 8570), you can get the security training needed to guard computer systems against emerging threats and to safeguard IT environments with Learning Tree. Our award-winning cyber security curriculum offers multimodal delivery options to meet your certification prep training needs. 

Learning Tree has a robust Cyber Security training offering that provides DoD personnel and support contractors all the courses necessary to obtain the 8140 certification. Further, we can help you maintain your certifications through ongoing earning of PDUs and CEUs, which is specific to each industry partner.

Cyber Security Training Partners

Categories of Directive 8140

DoDD 8570 is being replaced by DoDD 8140. Until DoDD 8140 manuals are finalized, DoD personnel are required to stay DoDD 8570 compliant. As with its predecessor 8570, the new DoD Directive 8140 is split into main categories, with tasks or special areas assigned underneath.

This category has seven (7) different special areas assigned under it.

  • Systems Requirements Planning
  • Enterprise Architecture
  • Software Engineering
  • Technology Demonstration
  • System Development
  • Test Evaluation
  • Information Assurance Compliance

The jobs assigned to this category are centered around architecture and engineering.

Certificates/Classes in this category consist of Project Management (PMP), A+ Certification, SharePoint Management, and Server Administration.

Seven (7) different special areas are assigned under this category.

  • Network Service
  • Data Administration
  • System Administration
  • Info System Security Management
  • System Security Analysis
  • Customer & Tech Support
  • Knowledge Management

The jobs assigned in this category are centered around the daily operation and maintenance of computer, network, and enclave systems.

Some of the certificates/classes in this category include: A+, Advanced Data Warehousing, Basic Network Traffic Analysis, and Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA).

This category has five (5) different special areas assigned under it.

  • Computer Network Defense (CND)
  • Incident Response
  • CND Infrastructure Support
  • Security Program Management
  • Vulnerability Management

These jobs center around securing and defending against cyber-related attacks.

Some of the certificates/classes in this category include: A+, Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP), Advanced PCAP Analysis and Signature Dev, and Android Security and Exploitation.

This category has four (4) different special areas assigned under it.

  • Cyber Threat Analysis
  • Exploitation Analysis
  • All-Source Analysis
  • Targets

These jobs analyze networks, systems, and exploitation to provide signatures and mitigation strategies.

Some of the certifications/classes in this category include: Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), Certificate in Oracle Database Administration, Counterintelligence for IT Professionals, and Cryptography and Public Key Infrastructure.

This category has three (3) different special areas assigned under it.

  • Collection Operations
  • Cyber Operational Planning
  • Cyber Operations

These jobs are centered around cyber operations and planning.

Some of the certifications/classes in this category include: Arm Assembler Programming Language, Business Execution: Crafting a Business Strategy that Executes, Security+, and Digital Photography for Law Enforcement.

This category has three (3) different special areas assigned under it.

  • Legal Advice & Advocacy
  • Strategic Planning & Policy
  • Education & Training

These jobs look at the legal aspect, the planning, and education/training that needs to take place.

Some of the certifications/classes in this category include: Business Law Basic Concepts, Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP),Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), and Cloud Computing Executive Overview.

This category has two (2) special areas assigned under it.

  • Investigation
  • Digital Forensics

These jobs look deeply at investigation and forensics of computer assets.

Some of the certifications/classes in this category include: Basic Imaging and Extraction Course, Basic Network Traffic Analysis, CompTIA Linux+ Certification Prep, CompTIA Network+, and Computer Incident Responders Course.

8570 Baseline Certification Map

Personnel performing Information Assurance (IA) functions within the DoD must obtain one of the certifications required for their position category or specialty and level. Click the certification name to view specifics.

Interested in finding out more about how we serve the Government?
* Required Fields
Chat With Us